About us

Tsuro Trust

About us

The acronym TSURO stands for Towards Sustainable Use of Resources Organisation. We are a community-based organisation in Chimanimani Zimbabwe that focuses on empowering rural communities to engage in sustainable and profitable agriculture based on proper natural resource management. TSURO is a private voluntary organisation registered as a Trust under Deed of Trust with the Registrar of Deeds in Harare, Zimbabwe, with registration number MA0000468.  It was founded to support community-level efforts directed at sustainable development. 

The organisation has its roots within associations of smallholder farmers established in 2000.  In these associations, members form village groups and these affiliate at ward level and then further at district level.


The organisation uses a bottom-up approach in all its operations.  TSURO encourages people to use locally available resources, thus making many of the supported development activities affordable and sustainable.  Currently TSURO is operating in 21 out of the 23 wards of Chimanimani district and has four major areas of intervention, which are Sustainable Agriculture and Natural Resources Management, Community Health, Community-based Agro-processing, and Marketing, and Community Capacity Development. TSURO employs an evidenced-based approach in which the four departments work in an integrated and holistic way. 

Our Vision

Empowered, peaceful and united communities of Chimanimani and neighbouring districts with well sustained natural resources, healthy and food secure people as well as productive food processing and marketing initiatives.

Our Mission

TSURO aims at empowering the communities of Chimanimani and neighbouring districts to improve their livelihoods and relationships through programmes in the areas of sustainable agriculture, natural resource management, and community health, agro-processing and marketing.  In this effort, the TSURO Trust and the TSURO dzeChimanimani Association work with traditional leaders and all stakeholders who share the aim of alleviating poverty and reducing dependency of rural people.